Frank H. Foster, a licensed mortician working for Oliver H. Bair Co. in Philadelphia, opened a funeral parlor in a home on Creston Ave. in Audubon in 1904. This was an exceptional event, given that most people at that time were holding funerals in the family residence. Foster subsequently moved his business from that house to a storefront on Merchant St. in Audubon. He moved the business again in 1910, this time to the corner of Haddon & Lees Aves. in Collingswood. Foster constructed a huge building that took almost 16 years to fully complete. This was another unique move, as funeral homes were generally being established in private residences, and most services were still taking place in the family residence. In 1928, Foster returned to Audubon and opened a second funeral home, knocking down a house at 250 White Horse Pike and building another large facility. Foster's forward minded thinking of building homes for the purpose of conducting funerals was unmatched. The buildings he constructed were designed to accomodate the largest of crowds, but also comfortable enough for the smallest of gatherings.